Pescetarian – is that English?

Actually, no. The word is derived from the Italian word pesce for fish.

I’m a pescetarian – at this point I  usually see faces draw a blank and hear a collective “a WHAT?”
Pescetarian is a term that has gained popularity in the recent past to describe a diet that includes seafood but no other animals (beef, chicken, pork, etc).
Personally, I don’t eat any seafood except the occasional fish… but that’s just me!

This is where I hear alot of the following questions/statements:
“Sooo you’re a vegetarian?!”
“Oh, so you eat fish only. Aren’t they animals too?”
“If you don’t eat meat, what DO you eat?”
My usual response? No, I’m not a vegetarian. I’m a pescetarian. Previously, pescetarians were described as vegetarians that eat fish – which to many vegetarians make’s no sense. And I agree – fish are animals too (up for debate by some groups but my opinion is that fish = animals).

So why do I eat fish? My choice to be a pescetarian isn’t connected to some sort of activism on my part. I eat no meat because I don’t like the taste of it. Maybe my tastebuds never developed properly, who knows. All I know is that for as long as I remember, I have never liked meat. I did used to eat beef/chicken when I was younger but as I grew older, I ate less and less of it until one day I realized I don’t care for it. That was that.

So what do pescetarians eat? ALOT.
I love, love, LOVE food.

About Shaza's Scrapbook

My name is Shaza and I'm a twenty something year old who's passionate about FOOD and Weddings! View all posts by Shaza's Scrapbook

2 responses to “Pescetarian – is that English?

Leave a Reply

