Epiphany

This is going to be a short post. I barely got any sleep this past weekend and my mind has been working overtime… needless to say, I’m feeling wiped out. It’s only Tuesday morning!

Anyway, we had an epiphany the other day. Truth be told, it was Nouman who realized this and had to convince me – just a little!

What am I talking about?
Well, I think we’ve almost decided on our venues – for atleast 2 days.

Amazing, I know. You’re probably wondering – how did this happen?!
Going to look at all these venues, we realized that ultimately the most important part is that we’re getting married. It’s easy to get carried away with wanting more of everything. But really, it’s the marriage that is the most important, not the wedding.

There, I said it.

But I do believe that. I could get married in an amazing castle but it wouldn’t matter unless I was marrying the person I wanted. So instead of stressing out over venues, we both need to enjoy this time we have with each other and with our families.

Instead of being picky about all the teeny-tiny details at each venue, I’m focusing on the bigger picture. It makes life so much easier.

Don’t get me wrong though, I still care about what my wedding looks like – I am a girl after all.  We’re still aiming to have a beautiful wedding but I just won’t be as fussy and picky about everything. At the end of the day, it’s the people that make the wedding memorable.

About Shaza's Scrapbook

My name is Shaza and I'm a twenty something year old who's passionate about FOOD and Weddings! View all posts by Shaza's Scrapbook

4 responses to “Epiphany

  • Mishkat

    Hi Shaza,
    I really enjoyed reading your blog, more so because I went through that you’re going through. It can get stressful at times, we just need to remind ourselves what brought us to this stage in life (the proposal)…people sometimes get so carried away with wedding planning and wanting the best of the best, that they don’t realize they already have the best (their spouse) and that the wedding is an event that will only last 6 hours of your life. We just need to ground ourselves more and do what’s in our limit. It’s okay to want something that’s beautiful, but it’s not okay to want it because you want your wedding to be better than ‘Tom, Dick, and Jerry’.

    There’s my two cents about it haha. Goodluck with everything!!! Wedding planning is extremely exciting and totally enjoyable – especially when you do it with your husband to be :).

    See you soon
    Mishkat

  • juliannayu

    Hi Shaza!
    I’ve been really enjoying your posts as well. I’ve enjoyed this one in particular because it seems like in the midst of all this wedding planning craziness it really is easy to get carried away and lose sight what’s important. Although I can’t relate to planning a wedding, I feel like I have a better idea of what you’re going through from your posts. We all need to be reminded sometimes of what’s really important, thanks for sharing.
    By the way, that didn’t seem like a short post to me at all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

