DIY: Wedding Makeup

Every girl/bride knows how important make-up is on the big day. As the bride, you are the center of attention for the entire night. Forget the venue, the decor, the food. Nothing compares to how much everyone loves talking about the bride; her clothes, jewellery, hair and makeup are the center of everyone’s discussions.

For me, I’m not too concerned about what everyone else thinks about the way I look. I figured, we all have our likes and dislikes – one person might think I look amazing while someone thinks not-so-much. I think a bride is beautiful when she looks like herself (ahem… not covered in a sheet of white instead of her face) and exudes confidence and happiness. As long as I’m content with my look, the rest is all good.

In conjunction with our venue search, I’m also looking for Make Up Artists. Which brings me to the question: To DIY or not to DIY?

I’m obviously choosing not to do it myself , for a variety of reasons – on the big day, the last thing I want to worry about is not having time to do the best job; I want to feel like it’s my wedding and not as if I’m getting ready to go to a party; who doesn’t love a bit of pampering?; I’ve never set a heavy dupatta or jewellery… the list goes on

Having said that, I think I can do a pretty okay job of doing my own makeup. Check out my picture below from an event I went to. Obviously, it’s not a bridal look since that wasn’t the look I was going for. But I’m not going to lie, I have done “trials” myself to get an idea of what I want to look like. Don’t judge me – I know you all do it!

Would you consider doing your own makeup??

Black and Silver

About Shaza's Scrapbook

My name is Shaza and I'm a twenty something year old who's passionate about FOOD and Weddings! View all posts by Shaza's Scrapbook

One response to “DIY: Wedding Makeup

  • eimaan.wordpress.com

    I liked this statement of yours : I’m not too concerned about what everyone else thinks about the way I look. I figured, we all have our likes and dislikes – one person might think I look amazing while someone thinks not-so-much. I think a bride is beautiful when she looks like herself (ahem… not covered in a sheet of white instead of her face) and exudes confidence and happiness. As long as I’m content with my look, the rest is all good.
    I truly go with this attitude.
    I can’t even think of doing my makeup on my wedding day. I just won’t know what to do plus the brides’ are kind of tensed at their weddings so DIY is not really a good idea unless you work in a beauty saloon perhaps 🙂 .

Leave a Reply

