JFK Lounge: Review

I thought I’d post about FOOD to get us through Monday morning 🙂

JFK is close to our house and is one of our regular “go-to” places. I can’t tell you how most of the food at JFK tastes (mainly caters to non-pescetarians) – but whatever I have tried, I have loved. Same with the sisters, they like most of the food they’ve had at JFK.


Veggie Burger

So yummy! I usually prefer a real veggie burger – one where you can taste the veggies as opposed to the soy patty. This one is actually pretty good. The burger is flavourful and not dry. The toppings are just right – sauteed mushrooms, pickles, tomatoes, onion and lettuce. And the fries? I LOVE the fries at JFK.

Veggie Burger

Fish and Chips
The easiest way for me to eat fish is in this form. The fish and chips at JFK are surprisingly good – crispy but not overdone, the tartar sauce has just enough zing, and the fries (again) are made to perfection.

Fish and Chips

Below are pictures of dishes that I’ve never had but my sisters really liked.

Chicken Wrap - Sundried Tomato Wrap

Roast Beef Dip - Roast Beef on a toasted Ciabatta bun

Portobello Mushroom Chicken - in a Reggiano Cream Sauce. Nouman got it with mashed potatoes

 

Grilled Chicken Samwich in a Honey Garlic Sauce

Some things that aren’t the greatest (according to my sisters):

Swiss and Mushroom Chicken
Chicken breast stuffed with mushroom and Swiss cheese; served with rice and veggies. I’ve heard from a few people that the chicken is really dry.

 

Swiss and Mushroom Chicken

 

Meat Loaf
Ground beef meat loaf; served with mashed potatoes and veggies. Little one said she didn’t like it much because it was dry; she is also not a huge meat-eater so that might have made her a little biased.

 

Beef Meat Loaf

Steak Sandwich
Again, too dry.

Steak Samwich

Nachos
The nacho’s are pretty meh. We’ve only ordered this once and probably will never order it again. Do yourself a favour and serve some tortilla chips with cheese, olives, peppers and salsa. You’ll get the same effect and save money at the same time.

Nachos Supreme

Overall – it’s a good option for Halal comfort food. Their sandwiches/burgers are especially yummy  – including the veggie burger.

About Shaza's Scrapbook

My name is Shaza and I'm a twenty something year old who's passionate about FOOD and Weddings! View all posts by Shaza's Scrapbook

2 responses to “JFK Lounge: Review

  • Jazz Awadh

    Hello Shaza,

    Thanks for the review. I’m Jazz, General Manager here at JFK’s. We would like to thank you for the in depth review of our venue.

    It’s funny, the food you listed that are “dry” we have recently taken off our menu and replaced them with newer items like our Chicken Parmesan and Beef Vindaloo (Very Spicy 😉 ) . We figured, the response wasn’t as positive as we have hoped.

    I’m glad you enjoyed our veggie burger. However, we have now upgraded our Veggie Burger to a Vegetable Mozzarella Sandwich. I suggest you come by and try it, I’d love to get your feedback.

    Again, thanks for the review, people like you are one of the only ways we can improve here at JFK’s.

    Please drop by sometime and I’d like to offer you a free lunch or dinner on me for your efforts.

    • Shaza's Scrapbook

      Hi Jazz,

      Thanks for stopping by! I am SO glad to hear from you 🙂
      I love JFK – I once came there two days in a row to satisfy my JFK cravings lol. The Vegetable Mozzarella Sandwich sounds amazing! I’ll definitely be coming by soon to try it out… I’d love to come say hi face-to-face 🙂

Leave a Reply

