The Modern Bride: Macaron Madness

Continuing on from the Modern Bride series – after blogging about Cupcakes and Whoopie Pies, it’s time for Macarons!

Alright, so I’m not the biggest fan of Macarons. I’m more of a Macaroon girl – especially if one side is dipped in chocolate.

The first time I tried a Macaron was at The Sweet Escape Patissiere at the Distillery District. My thoughts? I didn’t love it. I realize now that the macaron wasn’t fresh (we went there right before they closed), so I’ll have to give it another try. Also, I kept comparing it to a Macaroon, which is obviously a no-no since they are so different.

One place where I do like Macarons from, is Petit Thuet – especially if you get a fresh one. You must try the pistachio or espresso macaron… sooo good!

Anyway, Macaron cakes have become increasingly popular at weddings. While I do like them incorporated subtly, I’m not a fan of entire cakes made from Macarons.

Also, if you watch any bridal show, you’ll know that Macaron cakes can be hard to put together and can crack sometimes.

Check out the pictures below.

Picture from MarthaStewart.com

Picture via the CakeBlog

About Shaza's Scrapbook

My name is Shaza and I'm a twenty something year old who's passionate about FOOD and Weddings! View all posts by Shaza's Scrapbook

Leave a Reply

