Faces: Sugar Dusted vs. Oompa Loompa

If you’re confused, let me explain what I’m referring to.

Back in the day, Pakistani brides used to paint their faces white on their wedding day – people thought that the whiter the face, the better the bride looked. While some brides still opt for this geisha-like look, most brides don’t (thankfully!). To top off the ghost-like-look, somehow, the neck and face are never the same colour. The face is always a few shades lighter than the neck – giving the bride a very unattractive look. Don’t do it girls!

Completely opposite to the geisha appearance, is the Oompa Loompa look (like the term? :)). This is when brides go for a “tanned” look, but end up going one step too far – they look more like an Oompa Loompa from Willy Wonka! Now I totally understand that the tanned look is in but seriously, most desi girls are already brown – you don’t need to try super hard to look tanned.

Quite honestly, the makeup done in Pakistan now is quite outstanding. I love the way Pakistani makeup artists do contouring – a technique that isn’t mastered by many in Canada. Flawless skin, a gorgeous glow and makeup that highlights your features… what’s not to love? 🙂

Anyway, the point of this post is that I’m in the process of making a decision about my makeup artist. I really want need to book someone soon since many makeup artists get booked as early as 1 year in advance.

My main concerns:

  • Having a thick white or orange paste (aka foundation) on my face
  • Looking like an aunty/amma jaan
  • My makeup melting off my face as I sit on the stage with bright lights and flashes pointing at me
  • Having my mascara run down my face *if* I cry
  • My face ending up a few shades lighter or darker than when the night started
  • The jewellery or dupatta (veil) slipping if it’s not securely set
  • The makeup artist not understanding that makeup looks different with professional photography/lighting

I know there are a few reliable makeup artists but I really want to try someone new. The problem? It’s a pretty big risk to take on such an important day.

Any suggestions? 🙂

About Shaza's Scrapbook

My name is Shaza and I'm a twenty something year old who's passionate about FOOD and Weddings! View all posts by Shaza's Scrapbook

Leave a Reply

