Sweet Summer Treats: Dairy Cream

On my way to my friend’s (Rolla B) book launch today, I was extremely hot and craving some icecream. Not just any icecream, I kept thinking about my favourite icecream place – Dairy Cream.

Dairy Cream is a small icecream parlour at Lakeshore in Mississauga. It is old and has a very retro-like feel to it (think of Pop Tate’s Chok’lit Shoppe from the Archie comics). There are worn-out, old red benches that have paint peeling off them.

Are you turned off?

Don’t be.

There is something very humble and welcoming about Dairy Cream. Maybe it’s the crazy line-up that swerves into the parking lot or people happily licking their icecreams while sitting on the hood of their cars. Add in the fact that it’s by the lake and you have a perfect Sunday planned for you!

So, what’s good to get here? There’s ALOT:

  • Chocolate Dipped Vanilla Icecream: add a sprinkle of nuts on the top and you’ve got my all time go-to “flavour”
  • Funnel Cake: I haven’t been to Wonderland in a million years, but I’m pretty sure I love the one at Dairy Cream better. The cake is oh-so-perfect and the soft-serve vanilla icecream is delish. I always get the Strawberry Funnel Cake – and yes, I can eat one easily. Alone.
  • Pistachio Icecream: I recently tried this and it was so good!

It’s way past my bedtime and I can’t remember any of the other flavours. They have really good sundaes aswell. Apparently, the icecream cakes are delish too – but I’ve never tried them.
Point to note: Dairy Cream is only open during the summer months. Also, they accept Cash Only – lucky for you guys, they now have an ATM inside the parlour so you don’t have to go across the street or to the Rabba down the street.

Funnel Cakes and Chocolatey Sundae

Chocolate Dipped Vanilla Icecream (one rolled in nuts, one without) and Pistachio Icecream... on waffle cones ofcourse

About Shaza's Scrapbook

My name is Shaza and I'm a twenty something year old who's passionate about FOOD and Weddings! View all posts by Shaza's Scrapbook

2 responses to “Sweet Summer Treats: Dairy Cream

  • Sadia

    I loved the pop tate analogy! Think I’ll check out this place πŸ™‚

    I like your blog, it has a picture of a chocolate cake, that I want, right now πŸ˜›

    Best of luck with wedding prep. I am lovin the fashions for the current year/season…hope you find lots of stylish and trendy clothes! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

