Keeping Things In Perspective

I wasn’t planning on blogging tonight. Simply because I am too tired, still feeling sick and really worn out by all the craziness of the past 2 weeks.

But I came across something that I really wanted to share with everyone.

First of all, I think I should talk about myself. I know most of my family and friends thought I’d be a complete bridezilla. So far, I am just as shocked as you might be, that I have been pretty laid back about things. I’m not saying I haven’t had numerous arguments with Nouman about the wedding (ummm, he asked to incorporate basketballs into the reception... need I say more?), because I obviously have. Overall though, I think I’m surprised that I’m not acting more crazy.

I know… I still have a year so I’m probably going to be more on edge closer to the wedding. But I do think that over the last little while, I have put things in perspective: yes, I want to have a great wedding but not by spending large amounts of money. Our marriage is more important to me than our wedding.

In all honesty though, I do have moments where I want everything. Moments where I think “who cares about a budget.” But Alhamdulilah, I have more instances of clarity than I thought I would.

This leads me to my reason for this post.

Hafsa came across the below youtube video by Nouman Ali Khan on weddings (desi weddings more specifically) and shared it with me. I thought he was hilarious and yet gets his point across clearly. He talks about how weddings turn into a big production instead of being a celebration of the union of two people and their families. Check it out 🙂

About Shaza's Scrapbook

My name is Shaza and I'm a twenty something year old who's passionate about FOOD and Weddings! View all posts by Shaza's Scrapbook

Leave a Reply

