Sarees

I just wanted to thank all of you for your words of advice and encouragement after my meltdown. I am definitely feeling better and have sent out a few emails to get back on schedule with the planning!

But now, onto the topic of sarees…

I’ve been preparing myself to go saree shopping in the near future (for my jahaiz collection).

As I’m sure many of you are aware, sarees are very common among Indian women. Traditionally, Pakistani females chose to wear sarees after they were married – sarees were associated with married women. In the last decade or so, we have seen that more and more single ladies adorning themselves with sarees.

I fall into the former category – I chose to not wear a saree until I was married. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with wearing a saree before marriage :). I figured that I have already waited so many years to wear a saree, 2 more years wouldn’t kill me. Sooo I’m actually really looking forward to getting dressed up in one.

My only concern is that I hope I don’t look like an “AMMA JAAN” (elderly mother). In my opinion, it’s very easy for me to look matronly. Because I wear a Hijab, I think I’ll have to be slightly more cautious of the fabrics and embroidery I choose.

For anyone wondering how to wear a Hijab and a saree – have a look at the styles below. A fitted full sleeve blouse adds so much elegance!

Saree by Sabyasachi

Minus the “pait” showing. You get the idea, right?

Sabyasachi

Devdas

Aishwaria Rai during the movie Devdas

Katrina Kaif in a 3/4 sleeve. As a new bride (or not), you can always pair a 3/4 sleeve with lots of chooriyan.

About Shaza's Scrapbook

My name is Shaza and I'm a twenty something year old who's passionate about FOOD and Weddings! View all posts by Shaza's Scrapbook

2 responses to “Sarees

Leave a Reply

