Shaping Up: 1

This is part 1 of many series.

Every girl wants to look the best on her wedding day. For most girls, this means dealing with issues pertaining to body image. Every woman, whether you are born skinny or not, has insecurities about her body. It is natural, so don’t feel like you’re the only person worrying about looking your absolute best! 🙂

For my wedding, I don’t want to lose weight. I do, however, want to tone certain parts of my body. For one, my arms – my triceps are not as firm as I’d like. My other “target” areas are my tummy and love handles – whenever I gain weight, my side fat increases the fastest. My tummy isn’t as bad as my sides but I can definitely work on reducing my one pack aka GUT. Haha. Funny secret: when I eat alot of sweets, I get a gut – I call this my one pack.

To any of you who are going to start rolling their eyes at me and telling me that I’m skinny or that I don’t need to lose weight: I didn’t say I wanted to, did I? 🙂 There’s a difference between losing weight and toning. I don’t want my arms to be jiggling when I’m dancing (I’m exaggerating but you get the picture) or my one pack to show up while I’m on my honeymoon. Plus, I’m getting alot of really fitted sleeves… sooo my arms gotta look gooood.

I also want to be fit – not just thin. Desi people, for some odd reason, think that being thin = fit. This is so not true. I have the weakest arms ever and that’s because my upper body doesn’t get much of a workout. What does this mean? No workout = weak muscles = not fit. I could be the thinnest girl around but be completely out of shape.

Anyway, since I don’t have a target weight I want to reach, I can’t quantify my goal. All I know, is that I want to look and feel good. Haha 🙂

I had initially planned on working out in September – I figured that working out for around 2 months would be good enough to tone up. I know I have 1 year until the wedding, but I want to be the right size when I order my outfits. Makes sense?

Sooo I worked out on Tuesday, for the first time in about a year! I didn’t work out too hard because I didn’t want to overdo it. I worked with weights – targeting my arms and gut. My lower half is pretty toned because I walk, alot.

Contrary to popular belief, I eat pretty healthy most of the time so I’m not concerned about “controlling” my diet. People see my status’ or my facebook food pictures and automatically ask me how I’m not fat if I eat so much. Seriously, do you really think I’m going to post about my normal, everyday food? Besides the many junk foods that I crave, I routinely crave healthy things too: celery sticks, chickpeas and tomatoes, random fruits, yummy salads, etc.

Here’s what a normal day might look like for me:

  • Breakfast
    Either 2 Peanut Butter and Jam sandwiches on whole wheat multigrain bread (by 2, I don’t mean 2 slices of toast. I mean 4) or 1 Peanut Butter and Jam sandwich and a granola bar
  • Snack 1
    Any fruit – usually mixed berries (strawberries, blueberries and rasberries are my favourite) or whatever is in season
  • Snack 2
    I eat lunch late, so I usually have another snack before lunch. Generally veggies – either raw peppers and radish or celery sticks and peanut butter
  • Lunch
    Depends on my mood but I generally stick to salads because they are easy to make/buy and don’t require alot of thinking. Confession: I’ve been buying lunch alot for the past while, so that’s not good. Examples of lunch: chickpeas, tomato and basil (one of my all time favourite lazy day creations), spinach salads (I love spinach salads – so if I’m making a salad at home, it has to be spinach. I usually add in whatever I have – strawberries and almond, cranberries, orange, apple, whatever), quinoa salad… etc
  • Snack 3
    Another fruit – generally apple but again, it can be anything (bananas, peach, plum, orange, grapes, etc)
  • Dinner
    Whatever my mom cooks. Yesterday, I had eggs and a veggie burger

Some other snacks that I keep at/bring to work: popcorn, instant oatmeal (I keep whole grain oats and add peanut butter to it 🙂 you can keep flavoured ones too), variety of nuts (although I can’t keep an entire box because I have no self control – so I bring them in a small container), rice cakes (I spread peanut butter on them but you can use anything – almond butter, cottage cheese, cream cheese, etc), etc.

Sure, some of you are looking at the above and thinking “wow, she’s on a diet.” But no. I’m not. I’ve been eating like that for years. I’ve always been pretty health conscious – since around grade 11 or 12

Does this mean I never eat junk? Heck no (just look at my facebook)! I have a rule: I must eat something “bad” everyday. Yup, everyday. I’m not one of those people who can go days without having sugar and not realize it. Whether I’m having a mini chocolate bar or eatin2 “buns,” I crave stuff and I satisfy my cravings.

Oh yeah, I do slip up. Alot – I had burger and fries for lunch twice last week… and my junk food intake for the past weekend was shameful: assorted chocolates, truffles, nuts and shortbreads (courtesy of Nouman); buttery movie popcorn; icecream; funnel cake; panzerotti; more icecream… need I list more? But as long as I’m balancing it out by eating healthy most of the time, it’s all good! 🙂

Hehe

About Shaza's Scrapbook

My name is Shaza and I'm a twenty something year old who's passionate about FOOD and Weddings! View all posts by Shaza's Scrapbook

4 responses to “Shaping Up: 1

  • farina

    Great post, like always ! I wish I could somehow follow your blog 😦 I’ve got an google blog : http://desmomentsdebonheur.blogspot.com ( on germany and sometimes there will be english posts.. but there’s also going to be a translator widget or something like dat.. ) But I can’t follow your blog .. I always type in your webadress to see what’s new 😀

    Loveee Farina -Farah

Leave a Reply

