DIY: How To Pin Bridal Dupatta

A friend of mine recently asked me how to pin bridal dupatta’s at home. I’ve pinned my dupatta without the help of a “professional” on two occasions and Alhamdulillah it stayed in place.

Step 1: Creating the Puff
Use a bumpit. Dear Bride, it is your friend.
When setting your dupatta, you want to add a little bit of height at the front of your head to gain a better shape and setting of the dupatta. A bumpit is perfect to add height. Bumpits come in a few different sizes – I used the middle-sized one. If you have fine hair and the bumpit is visible through your hair, don’t worry! Your dupatta will cover up everything.
Note: Do a trial run with your dupatta and bumpit. If you place the bumpit too close to the top of your hair, your head will appear cone-shaped. If it’s too low, it won’t create the right amount of height. Practice!
Where to buy a bumpit: I’ve seen them at the dollar store ($2) or at an “As Seen on TV” store. They come in different colours (black, brown, blonde) so buy one that matches your hair. Duh.
Alternative: Tease your hair. Instead of using a bumpit, you can tease your hair to create a “puff” and then place your dupatta on your head.

Mineee!

Step 2: Drape Your Dupatta
Once you have your desired hair height, place the dupatta in the style that you want to wear it. Be sure to check the length of the dupatta on each side.

Checking to see if everything looks good

Step 3: Pesky Pins
The tricky part.
Pin the dupatta on the side of your head first. The best type of pin to use is a sewing pin (see below). Try to get a sewing pin that has a small and clear head – making it barely visible on your dupatta. At my baat pakki, we were a little frazzled and couldn’t find enough sewing pins so we used a bobby pin on one side. The bobby pin was really visible but the sewing pin looked non-existent πŸ™‚

Sewing Pin

Step 3: Pinning at the Shoulders
After pinning at the side of your head, pin your dupatta to your shoulders. This helps keep the dupatta in place. Use a small safety pin – pinning from the inside of your outfit.

Safety Pin

Step 4: Lift the Weight
Last step – pin your dupatta at the upper to mid back to keep the weight balanced. By pinning the dupatta at the back, you’ll help prevent it from sliding off the top of your head. Use a slightly bigger safety pin than you used on your shoulders.

Step 5: Check
Check yourself out. You know you look good! πŸ™‚

No visible pins!

Loookieee. Butterfly?

About Shaza's Scrapbook

My name is Shaza and I'm a twenty something year old who's passionate about FOOD and Weddings! View all posts by Shaza's Scrapbook

10 responses to “DIY: How To Pin Bridal Dupatta

  • Kate

    Hi – thanks very much for this! What do you mean about pinning at the side of your head? Do you pin into the bumpit or into your hair? Thank you!

    • Shaza's Scrapbook

      Hi Kate! πŸ™‚
      Yup, pin it to your hair. Basically, I didn’t touch my bumpit after I secured my bumpit (I used lots of hair pins to make sure my bumpit does not move from its place). I pinned the sides of my dupatta to my hair, then pinned the dupatta at my shoulders (pinning the dupatta to the shirt), and lastly at the back of my shirt to prevent the dupatta from being weighed down.

      Once you’re done all that, you can pin the longer side of your dupatta to your wrist (check my last picture on the post).

      Hope this helps!

  • Kate

    Hi Shaza – wow, thank you so much for your fast and super helpful response!

    I am a bit confused about the pins – if you use those types of pins right into your hair don’t they prick your head? how do they get a grip?

    And with your wrist – did you pin it to the edge of your sleeve? or to a bangle or something?

    The longer edge of the dupatta – so the shorter side of the rectangle is the one along your forehead? Do you pin both edges to both wrists or only one?

    Thanks for a super helpful post, Shaza! I’m a gori bride trying to do the wedding on a budget so I’d like to try to do hair and makeup myself rather than pay an outrageous amount to have it done, so the help is VERY much appreciated!

    Kate

    • Shaza's Scrapbook

      No problem Kate – doing your own hair, makeup and dupatta setting can be overwhelming. Wishing you all the best πŸ™‚

      1. Surprisingly, the pin stays in place. I was skeptical when I tried it the first time but it stayed in place for the duration of the night – about 5 or so hours. I would recommend that you try it at home one day and see how it feels
      2. I pinned it around my wrist. Basically, I looped the dupatta around my wrist and pinned it (so I pinned one side of the dupatta to the other side by creating a “noose” around my wrist)
      3. I only pinned one side to the wrist. I left one side (the slightly shorter side) loose and the other I looped around my wrist. Look at the second picture in the post to see the “loose” side. I just let it hang down the front of the shirt

      Hope this didn’t confuse you more!

    • Shaza's Scrapbook

      Just saw this link – this is what I mean by looping around the wrist! πŸ™‚

  • alia

    Hi, is there any way you can show a video on how to set a bridal dupatta please?

  • Aysha

    Hi there. I am a hair stylist and an lot of clients asking I can set dupattas as well. It’s not rocket science right?? If you have any other tips or suggestions I would greatly appreciate it!! My email adress is

    Gs_786143@hotmail.com

    • Shaza's Scrapbook

      Hi Aysha,
      It is slightly hard if you are setting it for the first time and if the dupatta is heavy. Getting the dupatta to stay for a long time with a heavy dupatta can be challenging for most people. I’ll be writing another post about dupatta setting so do check that out πŸ™‚

      ~ Shaza ~

Leave a Reply

