Rabia Z: Where Modesty Is Always In Style

A big part of who I am is my Hijab (headscarf). In this post, I am referring to Hijab strictly in the physical sense – my headscarf and my goal to dress modestly.

I often get asked by friends and colleagues how I cover up in the summer. Quite honestly, it’s not that difficult. I love fashion and I love to incorporate my Hijab into what I wear. I wear shirts under my dresses, cropped sweaters, tube tops, shrugs and a whole bunch of other articles of clothing to cover up. Surprisingly, I don’t get hot! I’m always cold – yup, I wear sweaters in the summer around the office and at home! 🙂

Today, I want to bring some attention to a designer who promotes Hijab – Rabia Z.

A little bit about Rabia: She went to college in NY for business and later studied fashion there aswell. She was inspired to create modest yet modern outfits for the moderate Muslim woman. She has since moved to the UAE where she won the “Emerging Designer Award” at Dubai’s Fashion Week in 2007 and later the British Council’s “International Young Fashion Entrepreneur of the Year 2008” award. Her work has been showcased at various fashion shows – including Pakistan Fashion Week 2010.

I love her sense of style and her use of daring colours!

Image via Rabia Z's facebook group

Image via Rabia Z's Facebook page

Image via Rabia Z's Facebook page

Image via Rabia Z's Facebook page

Image via Rabia Z's Facebook page

Image via Rabia Z's Facebook page

About Shaza's Scrapbook

My name is Shaza and I'm a twenty something year old who's passionate about FOOD and Weddings! View all posts by Shaza's Scrapbook

Leave a Reply

