Eid: Chaand Raat

It’s time to start looking forward to Eid (festival that marks the end of Ramadan) as the 30 days of Ramadan are coming to an end. The day before Eid is known as Chaand Raat – literally, it means Night of the Moon.

I love, love, love Chaand Raat. Growing up in a house full of girls is completely different than growing up around boys – especially around Chaand Raat/Eid. Ever since I was a child, I have always associated Chaand Raat with excitement, fun, songs, and lots and lots of mehendi at our house.

This will be my last Chaand Raat before I’m married (InshAllah) and I am super excited (as always :)) and a little sad as we get closer to it. It’ll be the last time we sit together and constantly refresh the Hilal Committee website to figure out if it’s Eid the next day or not, the last time we scream around saying it’s Chaand Raat, the last time we put on old Pakistani songs (err… Hadiqa Kiyani anyone?!) as we dance around preparing for Eid, the last time we lay out our Eid prayers clothes and our Eid dinner clothes out together, the last time we take out our jewellery and chooriyan, the last time we bug Ghazal to put Mehendi (Henna) on our hands, the last time I keep telling Ghazal that I don’t want alot of Mehendi but I don’t want too little either, the last time Ghazal gets annoyed and tells me to let her do what she wants or she’ll ruin my hand, the last time I exchange a smirk with Hafsa when Ghazal gets frustrated at me, the last time we force mumma to put Mehendi on her hands, the last time we put in our requests for what we want mumma to cook for us, the last time we decide on what time we’re going for Eid prayers, the last time we excitedly get up on Eid yelling “Eid Mubarak” and then hugging each other… only to say “abhi rukh jao.. namaaz parhlo (wait until we’ve prayed)” and the last time we pray the Eid prayers together and randomly bump into our neighbours (Paracha family :)).

This wasn’t supposed to be such a long post but I guess I must have alot on my mind!

Anyway, I know this isn’t really the last time I’ll be doing some of the things above. However, celebrating Eid while living at home with your sisters/parents is entirely different than celebrating with your hubby.

I can’t wait to celebrate Chaand Raat with my family, surrounded by chooriyan, mehendi, clothes and the frenzy that the night brings!

p.s. we went Eid shopping last night and had a blast! We’ll be going again tonight 🙂

I hope everyone has had a blessed Ramadan and has a fantabulous Chaand Raat/Eid with their family and friends! 🙂 Make sure you give Fitra before you the Eid prayer.
Side Note: by giving Fitra, we can ensure that every Muslim can share in the happiness and joy of Eid with their families.

To check when Eid is, visit Hilal Committee or Isna Canada.

Mehendi by FreshInc Mehendi

Mehendi by FreshInc Mehendi

The Mehendi on the first 2 pictures are done by FreshInc Mehendi. The rest are by my sister, Ghazal 🙂

Mehendi by Ghazal

Mehendi by Ghazal

Mehendi by Ghazal

Mehendi by Ghazal

Mehendi by Ghazal

Mehendi by Ghazal

Mehendi by Ghazal

About Shaza's Scrapbook

My name is Shaza and I'm a twenty something year old who's passionate about FOOD and Weddings! View all posts by Shaza's Scrapbook

Leave a Reply

