Review: Smoke’s Poutinerie

If you are a Halal-eating Muslim in Canada, eating delish Poutine is about as tangible as winning $1 million.

Why?

Simply because the gravy used in poutine is not Halal (it’s generally made of beef, chicken or turkey) and because veggie poutine usually sucks.

Enter Smoke’s Poutinerie!

Smoke’s offers 3 varities of vegetarian poutine – the gravy is mushroom based:

  1. Traditional: Fries, Gravy and Cheese Curds
  2. Nacho: Tomato Salsa, Sour Cream, Jalapeno Peppers and Guacamole
  3. Deluxe: Sauteed Mushrooms, Caramelized Onions and Green Peas

Us three sisters decided to order 2 traditional and 1 deluxe veggie poutine. Yup, we got a large poutine each – and finished it too!

I’m not expert when it comes to Poutine-eating – heck, I think this might have been my second time eating a poutine. But I know good food, so here’s what I think:

  • Fries – amazing. The fries are fresh and hand-cut – they are soft on the inside with just the right amount of crunch on the outside.
  • Gravy – great. I could really taste the mushrooms in the gravy and I love that about mushroom gravys. Yummylicious!
  • Cheese – I’m not a big cheese eater, so I can’t say much on the quality or the squeekiness. I think it was good – nothing to complain about.

Traditional vs. Deluxe
Whenever I go back, I will have the traditional veggie poutine. While the deluxe was good, I didn’t like the taste of the peas in it too much. Don’t get me wrong, the deluxe is pretty okay but the traditional is definitely much much better. There is a slight sweetness to the deluxe poutine – probably a combination of the carmalezied onions and peas. On the other hand, the traditional poutine is super yummy! It’s not too salty and the ratio of gravy, cheese and fries is perfect.
My recommendation: if you want to try the poutine, stick to the traditional veggie. You will be thoroughly satisfied. Oh, and also don’t bother with a takeout – cold, soggy poutine just isn’t the same!

Location: Smoke’s is situated right above Burrito Boyz (yes, I did think of having both in one day) and is pretty small. The inside is mainly wooden with not much room to sit. 15 people might be a tight squeeze

Ambience: Obviously, it’s a really casual and chilled out place to eat. The crowd is very friendly! There were a bunch of fun guys there that were part of a bachelor party when we went.

Portion size: Huge.

Price: reasonable – under $10 after taxes.

Traditional Veggie Poutine

Veggie Deluxe Poutine

*Note: If you eat Halal-only or if you’re a vegetarian, please call Smoke’s yourself before going to double check their vegetarian authenticity. I haven’t been back there for over a year and their recipe/ingredient list may have changed.

About Shaza's Scrapbook

My name is Shaza and I'm a twenty something year old who's passionate about FOOD and Weddings! View all posts by Shaza's Scrapbook

Leave a Reply

