Bol – Speak

This is going to be short and sweet – I’m supposed to start cooking (my first attempt with Phyllo dough!!). I watched a Pakistani movie yesterday, Bol, and I just wanted to share my thoughts with you guys.

Bol is a fictional story about the real life issues of the South Asian community. The movie looks at issues such as poverty, gender inequality, sexual harassment, inequality, family planning, double standards/hypocrisy and abusive relationships (in more ways than just husband and wife).

Without giving away too much – it is a story about a woman on death row who is granted her last wish to tell her tale infront of the media. Bol gives us a peak into the lives of poverty stricken families in Pakistan, struggling to make ends meet. It forces us to question the boundaries we set on ourselves and why we value one life over another.

Though the movie is long (3 hours-ish!), the message comes across loud and clear.

I encourage you guys to watch it if you haven’t already. Watch it in theatres – definitely worth the entire experience!!!

p.s. short and sweet – yeah right! I clearly love to ramble on and on! 🙂

About Shaza's Scrapbook

My name is Shaza and I'm a twenty something year old who's passionate about FOOD and Weddings! View all posts by Shaza's Scrapbook

Leave a Reply

