First Attempt: Cheese Pie

Happpyy Monday Morning!!

I hope you all had a great weekend – I did! For the first time in a long time I had a laid back weekend. It was still really busy but I had time to do things for myself instead of attending dawats, bridal showers, weddings and baby showers (I love attending all those but I haven’t had “ME” time in a while!).

Last week, I saw some stuff that I really loved for my mehendi. Not thinking straight, I didn’t buy the stuff and decided to come back later. I went to pick them up on Friday but they were all sold out. I wasn’t worried, I was sure that the original location I had seen them at would have them. Ghazal and I decided to check out the original location on Saturday. Yeah, that didn’t work out too well. We managed to pickup 5 pieces, but that’s all they had. I was slightly frustrated but we knew there were a few more locations in our close proximity. We went to another store, no luck. We went to location 3, 4 and 5 – sold out everywhere! Super frustrating. I only managed to get 5 pieces so that was a definite fail. I did pick up some more stuff for my bridal shower though so that’s a yeay! Lesson learned: If you like something, buy it! Don’t wait because it will be gone.

Oooh and I cooked cheese pies. I know, check me out… all domesticated and stuff. NOT. I was supposed to make spinach and cheese pies but the box that I thought had spinach in it was actually spring mix. I settled for cheese pies instead. It was my first time working with Phyllo dough – it was pretty easy. Slight challenge: making sure you don’t tear the Phyllo since it’s super “sensitive” (ha-ha. The Phyllo tears easily).

Here’s what I did:

  • Grated marble cheese
  • In a pan (I don’t know if there’s a fancy name for pots and pans – I call it a pan and that’s what I used) saute some garlic
  • Add tomato sauce, salt and herbs to the garlic
  • Let the tomato sauce cool down
  • Mix the cheese and sauce
  • Fill the Phyllo dough (make sure to use lots of cooking spray when folding the Phyllo) and make it into whatever shape you want. I made it into triangles because 1) It’s easy, and 2) I’m brown and desi people like triangular foods such as samosa’s
  • Bake in the oven

The inside tastes similar to pizza - probably because of the cheese and tomato sauce combination

About Shaza's Scrapbook

My name is Shaza and I'm a twenty something year old who's passionate about FOOD and Weddings! View all posts by Shaza's Scrapbook

Leave a Reply

