Shopping in Karachi: Where to Shop

Hope everyone had a great long weekend! πŸ™‚

This post is for all of you who have asked me to give you a list of stores where I shopped from in Karachi. Obviously, please keep in mind that what I consider an “average cost” of a dress, might be very different from your average. Everyone has different price points that they are comfortable with so I’ll try to do my best to give you as much detail as possible! πŸ™‚

As I mentioned before, I did all my shopping from Tariq Road/Bahadurabad. Most of the clothes I bought were ready made so I’m not really sure what the prices of custom-made outfits at these stores are. Here goes..

Bahadurabad

  • Exclusive: I bought 3 suits from Exclusive. I really, really, really like the selection at this store – there is a wide variety and lots of different price points. You can find formal clothes ranging from 6,500 PKR – 16,000 PKR ($78 – $190) – the most expensive suit I bought here was definitely closer to the 10,000 PKR mark and it is heavy!
  • Wardrobe: Another store that I really liked – their selection changed twice while we were there so I definitely loved that they always had new pieces when we went. The bridal clothes start at about 9,000 PKR but you can easily get outfits in the 6,500 range if you don’t go to the bridal section.

Tariq Road

  • MahaJabeen: Slightly on the pricier side since this is exclusively a bridal store – average outfits start from 10,000 PKR and go upwards of about 30,000 PKR. They have very “bareek” kaam – which I love πŸ™‚
  • Mohsin: Mostly made-to-order outfits – price range is the same as MahaJabeens – 10,000 PKR and up
  • Zardozi: The selection is very unique which I really liked – this is definitely pricier. Bridal suits start from 20,000 PKR – the sky is the limit!
    Tip
    : there is a sale section at Zardozi where you can find gorgeous pieces starting at around 12,000 PKR
  • Shakeel’z: Made-to-order outfits – prices start at around 15,000 PKR
  • Makkah: Formal (bridal) suits start at around 12,000 PKR
  • Jabeens: Formal bridals start at around 20,000 PKR
  • Banaras Silk House: They have some really gorgeous sarees. There is a also store right opposite Banaras Silk House that has really beautfiul sarees at reasonable prices –Β  I bought a fancy chiffon saree from there for around 10,000 PKR ($120)

Tips

  • If you can, avoid using the word BRIDAL or WEDDING. As soon as you say anything wedding related, prices will increase tenfold
  • Research, research, research! Make sure you do alot of research prior to going on your trip – talk to previous brides and ask for tips. Every bride makes mistakes – the more research you do and the more organized you are, the fewer mistakes you will make (trust me, even with all the research I had done, I still made a few mistakes too!)
  • Alot of people in Karachi do something really smart while shopping – if you like shopping at places such as Threads & Motifs, but don’t want to spend alot on your outfits, you can ask them for a “front shirt piece.” Add this to a plain cloth (for the back) and you have a gorgeous outfit for half the price!
  • If you really love an outfit but are uncomfortable with the price tag, ask the store if you can reduce the amount of kaam (work) on the outfit. Most stores that custom-make outfits will be happy to oblige – all you have to do is ask! πŸ™‚

Photography by Qurrat Ansari

Hope this helps with your shopping πŸ™‚
If you have any other specific questions, feel free to email me!

p.s. you might also want to hear about my experience with my mayoun and/or wedding dresses!

About Shaza's Scrapbook

My name is Shaza and I'm a twenty something year old who's passionate about FOOD and Weddings! View all posts by Shaza's Scrapbook

15 responses to “Shopping in Karachi: Where to Shop

  • obsession99

    This is really helpful since I am totally planning everything … problem is that i am to wed to lahore and ill probably be shopping there as well .. but i dont think there should be a difference in the avg price! I have ordered online and they quote 20k+ for a decently heavy dress!!!

    • Shaza's Scrapbook

      I actually think Lahore might be a little pricier. My fiance’s family is from Lahore and my MIL is buying all my bari clothes from there – when I compare the prices, I think Lahore is more expensive. My mom also went to Lahore recently and the formal clothes she bought were around 1000 rupees more in Lahore than Karachi

      Are you in Lahore right now?

      ~ Shaza ~

  • obsession99

    i got engaged in may2011 and you can see the dress on my page obsession99.wordpress.com – even though my MIL got it for me i got around getting its price! its comparatively simple and i heard it costed 10k :S!

    where is pk headed!!?

  • studiothirstycrow

    love the way you write ! πŸ™‚ great blog !! Sushi demand was superb l! πŸ˜›

  • SK

    I really enjoy reading your blog!
    I just recently had an odd urge to want to get married, so I started searching up Pakistani wedding traditions, and I found your website,
    I read all your posts in an entire day! lol :$
    Any ways, was it worth going to Pakistan to buy dresses and invitations?
    I understand that bridal suits from Canada are very pricey, but when you compare the prices and include the plane ticket, was it still worth it?
    Oh and how many days did you need to stay in Pakistan to find everything you needed?
    Thanks!
    πŸ™‚

    • Shaza's Scrapbook

      Thank you so much for the sweet comment! So glad you’re enjoying the blog πŸ™‚
      Yup, it was totally worth it for me to go to Pakistan – I saved SO much… I think in total I must’ve saved atleast $3000ish even after I factor in my ticket! Keep in mind that I have 2 sisters so buying just outfits for the 5 main events (2 mayouns, mehendi, wedding and valima) for them and my mom = 15 outfits! Definitely worth it.

      In terms of cards – the cheapest cards here are about $50 more than what my cards cost me – and mine are totally customized to what I wanted. Just to give you an idea: if I was to order 175 cards, the cheapest ones here would cost around $175 ($1/card), whereas the cheapest one there is around 3,500 PKR (around $42… or $0.24/card!)

      I was there for just under 1 month but I had everything done in 3 weeks. I think 3 weeks is a good time if you plan ahead and are really good with time management! πŸ™‚

      ~ Shaza ~

  • Hina Maheri

    I love your Blog! I couldn’t help myself from scrolling and scrolling and reading all your great entries. The more I read, the more I want to go Shopping in Pakistan. InshAllah. I will definitely keep the list of shops you mentioned handy.

  • anonymous

    thats a pic of my nikkah dress u got on there ;)….but im glad theres none of me, id like to keep my privacy…thank u!

  • anonymous

    aaahhh!!! did u end up hiring her then?! she’s a childhood friend of mine, we went to the same middle school wayyyy back in Pakistan πŸ™‚
    i could tell u what to watch out for and what she does best if ud like…let me know πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

