Monday’s Munchies: Palak Paneer

Doesn’t the thought of Monday just make you want to curl up in bed and stay there?

To (hopefully) brighten your Monday’s up a little bit, I thought I would start something new – Monday’s Munchies! Basically, I’ll blog about munchies every Monday – anything from recipes to restaurant reviews to random things I like/want to eat.

Let’s face it, I love food and my weekends revolve around munching! Case in point: it’s almost 3 am and I’m sitting on my couch eating chips and eyeing a bar of Bueno. You’d think our upcoming wedding would motivate me to stop eating junk… but nope! By introducing Monday’s Munchies, I get to share my passion for food/eating with you… yeay! πŸ™‚

Remember how I told you guys that my mumma’s on my case to learn how to cook? Well, she got her way – I made something over the New Years weekend!

That’s right. ME cooking and in the kitchen. Surprised, aren’t you?

Nouman’s family came over on the first day of the year (sounds kinda cool to say that) so I decided to make something. I debated about what to cook for the longest time – lasagna (who doesn’t love it?), daal (I love daal but I thought it would be too boring), karhi (the Mister doesn’t like it) – and then finally settled on palak paneer.

Sauteing onions, garlic, cumin, black pepper, ground laal mirch (red chili pepper), ground dhaniya (coriander), ground haldi (tumeric), ground garam masala and salt in 2 tablespoons of vegetable oil.

Added some tomatoes and then let it simmer - it's foggy because of the steam. Duh.

Meanwhile, I also pan-fried paneer until they turned golden brown

Palak aka Spinach in the food processor

Bright green! Cooking the spinach in the onion mixture with some water and cream

Tadaaaaaaaa….

Cooked and ready to eat!

Okay, so it doesn’t look all that appetizing – I forgot to take pictures of the Palak Paneer before serving it (you know how desi moms are during dawats/dinners – you must stay out of their way to avoid their wrath). This picture is from what was left over πŸ™‚

It turned out pretty good –Β atleast Nouman was impressed. YEAY!Β I think next time, I’m going to put in less water – I would’ve preferred the consistency to be slightly thicker. Aren’t you guys proud of me for trying? πŸ™‚

p.s. thanks Mumma/Ghazal for overseeing the cooking and Hafsa for helping with the title!

About Shaza's Scrapbook

My name is Shaza and I'm a twenty something year old who's passionate about FOOD and Weddings! View all posts by Shaza's Scrapbook

4 responses to “Monday’s Munchies: Palak Paneer

Leave a Reply

