Desi Wedding Clothes in Toronto: Naz Fashion Bug

I was going to write a review about 2 wedding shows that I recently went to but I couldn’t wait to share the below images with you guys! A couple of you have asked me to suggest places around the GTA that carry a wide range of desi bridal clothes – so this one is for you guys! πŸ™‚

One of my favouritest places to shop around Toronto is Naz Fashion Bug (you might remember my previous Friday’s Feature about her). Naz Fashion Bug is owned by Nazish Khan – a very sweet and genuine person – and her collection is ah-mazing. We recently bought 3 outfits from her and I love how unique and intricate her work is. Every piece she has is extremely different to anything else available in the GTA – alot of desi stores are still stuck in the 90’s! Seriously, what is up with that?!

Everytime I have visited Naz Fashion Bug’s studio, I can’t help but want everything… I felt like I was back in Pakistan doing my bridal shopping. Her work is delicate and not gaudy – something that is seriously lacking in Toronto; you either find ultra boring or ultra gaudy. I also love her choice of colour combinations.

To top off everything, Naz is such a nice person to work with. The first time we went, we told her which colours we were looking for and she made sure to order outfits in that colour – how sweet is that? πŸ™‚

Brides: Naz does take custom-orders so you can talk to her and see if she can make your dream dress! She also has matching clutches that you can purchase with outfits. If you’re wondering – yes, she also has grooms sherwani and pagri’s

Naz showcased her latest collection at the Kismet Wedding Show on February 12, 2012. I have one word to describe the entire runway show by her: breathtaking! She was inspired to give her collection a Sufi touch and hence her models wore Turkish hats on the ramp. The clothes, the jewellery, the hair/makeup and the entire ambiance she created on the runway truly captivated the entire audience.

Enough of my blabbering – check out the pictures below πŸ™‚

I've seen this outfit displayed and it's even more gorgeous on the runway than the mannequin

Mumma and I both fell in love with this outfit when we saw it earlier this month

She's looking at me... I should've waved. I do that to random people sometimes.

The show stopper - my friend tried this outfit on back in Dec!

Final walk

Don’t you just LOVE? πŸ™‚

p.s. Happy Valentines Day!! Please don’t go overboard with presents – chocolates and flowers are the best way to go πŸ™‚

*All the above pictures are owned by me*

About Shaza's Scrapbook

My name is Shaza and I'm a twenty something year old who's passionate about FOOD and Weddings! View all posts by Shaza's Scrapbook

7 responses to “Desi Wedding Clothes in Toronto: Naz Fashion Bug

  • Nadia

    I love, love, LOVE naz fashion bug. I have been shopping there for years now. Yes, I say years because we started going to her when she first started her business. Every outfit that I have bought from her is so unique and I get so many compliments each time I wear any of her joras. Her prices have gone up quite a bit now but it’s still totally worth it.Β 

    • Shaza's Scrapbook

      Oooh have you? That’s so awesome. These were our first purchases (I’ll be posting up pictures after the event :)) but my friends have been shopping there for a while now too. Definitely a little pricey, but I agree – completely worth it! πŸ™‚

      ~ Shaza ~

  • Hibah

    Interesting pictures! I actually found her to be quite rude to my mom when we went looking for outfits for my wedding. Perhaps because my mom was the one doing the shopping for herself (my stuff is being taken care of by my MIL), but she really brushed off my mom, assuming she would not be a serious buyer I guess just because she’s an aunty. When my mom didn’t like anything and said she would come back after the next shipment, she said “yeah but btw every day that passes by the prices increase because of wedding season coming up”. We thought that was so rude and presumptuous! And yes, she is really over priced. Also, her dress that you love so much is actually a rip off of HSY, he made one almost exactly like that (I remember the dupatta, I loved it too!) a few years back.

    • Shaza's Scrapbook

      Hey Hiba!
      Oh wow, that is such a stark contrast to my experience. She’s been sweet and accommodating everytime I’ve met her! Yup, her prices are definitely a bit higher than others around the GTA… but I do think her stuff is unique so I’m willing to pay extra :p
      I found it the same in Pakistan – anywhere that had unique kaam, they would charge more.
      Oooh agreed about the copying – most places that sell clothes in the GTA don’t design original clothes. I’ve actually seen a few outfits that I got from Pakistan in stores here! πŸ˜›
      I’ll be posting more places, hopefully your mom is able to find clothes soon!

      ~ Shaza ~

  • Sumia

    Shaza, I’ve been reading your blog every now and then (whenever I get time to be honest) and I must laud you on your efforts. I enjoy every bit of it. Congrats to you and your family on Ghazal’s nikaah. Mashallah the couple looks amazing.

    The reason I’m writing here is to give my views on bridal trousseau shopping. I hope you and your readers find it helpful.

    I had surveyed pretty much every vendor in GTA when I was hunting my “dream” bridal jora. I did meet up Naz and found her very friendly and helpful (although I had made my intentions clear that I was surveying only and I hadn’t decided whether to shop in Toronto or Pakistan). Her dresses are pricey but that’s only because the fabrics she uses are of the highest quality you can find in Pakistan, and the embroidery she uses is top notch as well. Comparing this to what the other vendors provide, I think her prices are absolutely justified.

    I have had the unfortunate incident of purchasing an outfit from a completely new vendor who claimed using pure fabrics only to find out that the fabric was in fact synthetic(Coincidently, her name is Naz too!! =) ). Mind you, the dress was very pretty. I had no choice but to accept the dress since most vendors ask for full payment upfront and accept no refunds on made-to-order dresses. In short, don’t go for slightly cheaper options if you don’t want to compromise on quality. If you’re not finicky about pure fabrics then that shouldn’t be a problem!

    Sumia

    • Shaza's Scrapbook

      Hi Sumia,
      Aww thank you πŸ™‚ MashAllah

      Thank you so much for the detailed review – it’s definitely great to hear experiences of other people! Totally agree about the fabric – if I’m paying $200 for an outfit, the material had better not start deteriorating after the first wear. Naz’s clothes seem durable so far – I definitely like her!

      Thanks again for writing – I’m hoping it helps lots of girls out there πŸ™‚

      ~ Shaza ~

Leave a Reply

