Monday’s Munchies: My Bridal Shower Food

If you didn’t catch my post last Friday, this past weekend was my bridal shower! I’ll be posting pictures – those that I can – so be sure to check back later this week πŸ™‚ I had an absolutely amazing time – it didn’t hit me until last night that it was my shower.

If you’ve been following me on Facebook or Twitter, you’ll know that I have been planning my shower for ages! YES – I helped plan it πŸ™‚ The sisters and I bought most of the decor last year – yup, we planned that far in advance. You know I’m crazy like that.

The theme? A Masquerade party!

Since it was an afternoon party, we knew wanted finger foods – easy things to munch on. The hardest part about the food was trying to come up with creative food tags. Around midnight the night before, we finally decided to use famous quotes from plays πŸ™‚

*A special thank you to all the girls who helped with the food – you guys rock!*

All the labels

The Green Eyed Monster: for the spinach pies

All That Glitters Is Not Gold: Mini Croissants (Get it? because the croissants are a goldish colour?)

To Be or Not To Be: Mini Potato Sliders
There's a story behind this one: I really wanted to use this phrase because it's obviously one of the most famous ones. We couldn't figure out what to use it for. The little one suggested we use it for this and that she would demonstrate to everyone what it means: She would say "To Be," hold up the slider and say, "Or Not To Be" and then bite into it. Get it? Yeah... we like dorky lame jokes πŸ™‚

The Protagonist and The Aside: Chips and Dip.
Chips being the main (protagonist) and the dip being the aside (theatrically incorrect because aside doesn't actually mean "side"... but it goes with our food! lol)

Tempt Not A Desperate Man: Cookies.
Because we all know how tempting they are!

Bubble, Bubble, Toil & Trouble: Fruit Punch
Yes, we changed the D!

Be Not Afraid of Greatness: Meat (left) and Veggie (right) Lasagna's

Can One Desire Too Much of A Good Thing?: Veggie Pizza's

Soliloquy: Spring Rolls
Theatrical Meaning - When a character speaks to him/herself and the audience can hear him/her but other characters can't. Soliloquy... solo... spring rolls because they were solo πŸ™‚

Tableau: Chocolate Dipped Strawberries
Tableau refers to a frozen image. The little one and I thought you have to freeze/refrigerate choc dipped strawberries - apparently not!

The little one forgot to take a picture of the cake pop label: “What’s In A Name? That Which We Call A Rose.” Because the cake pops were set in a vase like a bouquet πŸ™‚

And now… the show stopper – my cake!! My suuuper talented sister madeΒ it – I gave her complete creative freedom on this project of hers… and she did an amazing job!

Isn't it gorgeous?! I LOVE all the detailing she did... notice the "S"? πŸ™‚

Midnight chocolate cake layered with salted caramel and whipped chocolate ganache.... sooo rich and decadent!!! πŸ™‚

The entire table

About Shaza's Scrapbook

My name is Shaza and I'm a twenty something year old who's passionate about FOOD and Weddings! View all posts by Shaza's Scrapbook

9 responses to “Monday’s Munchies: My Bridal Shower Food

Leave a Reply

