Bridal Shower Games

Since my bridal shower was this past weekend, I am so ready to share lots of tips and ideas with you guys!

Although I did help with the decor at my shower (ha-ha), my sisters planned everything else. They did an awesome job with everything ๐Ÿ™‚ – I especially loved some of the games they had. My sisters asked some of my friends to help in this department – they assigned one game each to most of my close friends.

We had the traditional games such as:

  • Forbidden Words: I have no idea what this game is actually called so I made up my own right now ๐Ÿ™‚
    Each guest is given one piece of article (necklace, hair tie, etc) at the beginning of the bridal shower and are told that they can’t say certain words (usually words like bride, groom, wedding, bridal shower, and the names of the bride/groom). Every time you get caught saying one of the forbidden words, the person who caught you gets your article. The person who collects the most pieces, wins! This game is played the entire night

Instead of necklaces, my sisters used these funky hair ties - they go perfectly with my masquerade theme!

  • How Well Do You Know The Bride: Prior to the event, the bride is asked a series of questions (10-20) about herself. During the event, guests are asked the same questions – the person with the highest number of correct answer wins!
    I was surprised that so many people remembered things about me – STALKERS! ๐Ÿ™‚
  • Toilet Paper Bride: Guests are divided into teams and given toilet paper. Each team has to create a wedding dress – the more creative the dress, the better your chances for winning.
    I love the variety of dresses people come up with. My shower had extremes: from the conservative/classy bride to the easy access bride. The winners at my shower even made shoes in my favourite colour – how creative is that?! ๐Ÿ™‚

Creative games that my sisters came up with/found:

  • Memory Game With a Twist: Guests are told that this is a memory game. The bride is asked to carry a tray full of things she might need on her wedding day/night and showcase it to the guests for a minute or so. Once everyone has had a look at the tray, the bride exits the room. The host of the game then tells everyone that there is a twist: they have to write down everything the bride was wearing – not what was on the tray. The person with the most correct guesses, wins!
    (I loved that some people were super specific with mine – they put down my eyeshadow and nail polish colours!)
  • Pass the Parcel: This was the sweetest game. Everyone was asked to sit in a circle and 3 gift bags were randomly handed out to the circle of guests. My friend Sadia wrote a story about Nouman and I and the bag would move left or right whenever she said those words. Whoever is holding the giftbag(s) at the end of the story, keeps the prize.
    Example: This is the story of how Shaza found Mr. Right <– all the gift bags would travel to the right! ๐Ÿ™‚
  • Dress the Dulhan: Similar to the toilet paper bride but with a desi twist! The older one came up with this one. This is another team game – each team is given items to dress up a desi bride; skirt (standing in for a sharara), dupatta, teeka, chooriyan, necklace and earings. The fastest team to dress the desi bride wins!

Dulhan accessories

Fun times! ๐Ÿ™‚

About Shaza's Scrapbook

My name is Shaza and I'm a twenty something year old who's passionate about FOOD and Weddings! View all posts by Shaza's Scrapbook

11 responses to “Bridal Shower Games

Leave a Reply

