Bridal Shower Tips

I hope these tips help those people who are organizing/attending bridal showers 🙂

  • Theme
    It’s always best to go with a theme – this will help centralize your decor, favours, food and ofcourse your outfit/look
  • Plan In Advance
    I might be crazy for buying things 6 months ago, but it really helps. The earlier you have your theme decided, the less you’ll be spending on your decor. Trust me on this one. I bought almost everything around Halloween – not only did I get everything for cheaper, I had more variety to choose from. There were fewer types of masks available around my bridal shower – and those that were in stores, were almost double the price.
  • Invitations
    Spring is a popular time for bridal showers so don’t wait until 3 weeks before the shower to invite people – chances are, people will be busy.
  • Food
    If you’re desi, this is your one time to stay away from brown food. If it’s an afternoon affair, select a light menu – mini sandwiches, croissants, pastries, sliders, etc. Food is a great area to incorporate with your theme – your menu, food colours and food labels all add to your decor!
  • Decor
    Naturally, decor will have the biggest impact on your theme. To start, the first place to turn to for decor is your home – you’ll be surprised at how many things you can use. We used dupatta’s, hijabs, vases (emptied almost all of our vases!), candles, plates, necklaces, streamers, and random decorative pieces. Once we knew what we could use from inside the house, we made a list of things we needed to buy.
  • Keep The Aunties OUT
    Pakistani bridal showers generally don’t have aunties present – thank God! I can’t imagine having older women around when the bride is opening her presents. Awkward. Those of you who know my mom, know that she’s the coolest mom around – we’re super comfortable (and always have been) in sharing EVERYTHING with her. She’s the kind of mom that is the first to notice if a guy is checking us out– and tells us about it. But, she wasn’t at home on my bridal shower day. Reason? One, we wanted other girls to be comfortable and two, she’d start cat-calling when I opened my presents. Definitely didn’t want that. Haha

And lastly…

  • Don’t Bug The Bride: Don’t call/text the bride-to-be for small issues such as directions/address. The last thing you want to do is stress her out 🙂

Flowers from my dad on my bridal shower day!

About Shaza's Scrapbook

My name is Shaza and I'm a twenty something year old who's passionate about FOOD and Weddings! View all posts by Shaza's Scrapbook

4 responses to “Bridal Shower Tips

  • heart2woman

    ❤ awwww the flowers are so cute mashAllah!

  • browsingthenet

    These are excellent tips. Especially NO AUNTIES ALLOWED. I was a bridal shower where someone brought their mom. I think the bride-to-be was pretty embarassed at one point because the conversation got “interesting.” The bride said “ummmm, we have aunties and kids here”. Some ppl brought kids too…

    I would also like to comment on the don’t bug the bride issue. I agree, but I think ppl should state an alternative contact person and phone number on their invites in case you have any issues. i.e. parking, buzzer numbers, security, where the heck to find a party hall in a building, if its on north side or south side of a building, entrances,which elevator, etc etc. People neglect to provide details on their invites and then you are stuck, especially if you are coming alone and don’t know anyone except the bride. Which brings me to another point, people need to provide more specific details!!! Simply stating location x at 2’oclock doesn’t cut it.

    My apolgies for the rant, just pointing issues that arise for guests. 🙂

    p.s. Love your blog, I check it regularly.

    • Shaza's Scrapbook

      Hi Browsing,

      Oh yeah, I should’ve included the No Kids on my tips. I had a “No Kids” policy.
      Totally agree about having alternative contacts – although my sisters did give theirs, alot of people still called me! lol

      Thanks so much for the suggestions 🙂 And I’m so glad you love it and read regularly! YEAY!

      ~ Shaza ~

Leave a Reply

