Monday’s Munchies: Swirls Cupcake

I hope you all had a good weekend – I had a hectic weekend, as usual. My family and I worked on some projects for the mehendi, I picked out linens for our mehendi, packed 2 suitcases and went furniture shopping with the Mister. It was a pretty tiring weekend but productive aswell.

Today’s Munchie is a spotlight on a local cupcake place, Swirls.

I first heard of Swirls Cupcakes at University and fell in love from the second one of their cupcakes touched my lips. For those of you who don’t know, I am not a big fan of cupcakes. I would much rather eat a chocolatey cake; I can never manage to eat icing off cupcakes – something about the texture totally grosses me out.

Anyway, Swirls offers some of the best cupcakes I’ve had in the West end of the city (does the East side even have bakeries? Ha-ha). The cake is fresh and has just the right amount of moistness – it melts in your mouth without crumbling as you bite into it (who wants to waste even the smallest crumb? Not me!). While I’m not a fan of icing, I have sampled it – the icing is light and not overtly sweet. I dislike it when the icing overpowers the actual cake; at Swirls, the balance is just right.

Swirls Cupcakes offers 11 scrumptious flavours – from Raspberry Beret to Lemon Luau to Cookies and Dream. Of the 11, I have tasted 7 and loved every single one. For those of you (like me) that don’t like icing, try their Marbelous Swirl cupcake – instead of icing, the cupcake is topped with chocolate ganache. Yum, yum, yum!

Is your mouth watering yet? ๐Ÿ™‚

My Engagement: Red Velvet, Choc Therapy and Charming Hostess

At my sisters Nikkah – Red Velvet, Choc Therapy, Mangolicious and Cookies & Dream

Mangolicious
Photography by Ali K

Red Velvet and Choc Therapy
Photography by Ali K

An added bonus? Swirls bakery is a family run, nut-free facility – who doesn’t love supporting independent stores?

p.s. I think cupcakes are a great idea for engagements, Nikkah’s and bridal showers! Want more cupcakes? Check out my review on Prairie Girl Bakery in Toronto.

About Shaza's Scrapbook

My name is Shaza and I'm a twenty something year old who's passionate about FOOD and Weddings! View all posts by Shaza's Scrapbook

5 responses to “Monday’s Munchies: Swirls Cupcake

Leave a Reply

