Wedding Cake Flavours

If you had to know one thing about me, you should know that cakes are my weakness. I think I can have an entire cake to myself in 1 day. I’m not joking. I love cake so much that I even dream about cakes sometimes. Yup, I’m a total fatty. Anyway…

I’m hoping to finalize our cake flavours this week! Nouman and I, along with our families, both love chocolate so we definitely want something chocolatey.

Since we have multiple tiers, we’re thinking of having 2 different flavours instead of 1. I’d love to get your suggestions and input 🙂 Here are the top few on our list:

  • Chocolate cake with a hazelnut filling and chocolate ganache (this one we’re getting for sure)
  • Chocolate cake with a chocolate mousse filling and chocolate ganache
  • Oreo Cookie/Cookies and Cream
  • Red Velvet
  • Strawberry Shortcake
  • Some other vanilla based cake?

My bridal shower cake – Midnight chocolate cake layered with salted caramel and whipped chocolate ganache. Courtesy of CoCo Love ~ Creative Cakes by Ghazal

What were your cake flavours? What do you think our second flavour should be? I’d love to hear from you!

About Shaza's Scrapbook

My name is Shaza and I'm a twenty something year old who's passionate about FOOD and Weddings! View all posts by Shaza's Scrapbook

11 responses to “Wedding Cake Flavours

  • Saima Ramzan

    Chocolate with mouse filling sounds mmm mmm delicious!!

  • Zara

    That cake is amazing! The design is absolutely beautiful. I think strawberry shortcake sounds yummy as a second option. I can’t tell you what mine were as I’m not married yet but if I was getting married we would probably have a New York cheesecake layer and a chocolate fudge cake layer (if that is possible) I hope so!

    • Shaza's Scrapbook

      I know – I loved the cake too! I was thinking of doing strawberry cheesecake as the second flavour, but apparently it is harder to store it with fondant since it has to be refridgerated.
      Chocolate Fudge Cake sounds divine!

      ~ Shaza ~

      • Zara

        That is a shame, as it would have been a nice contrast, in that case I think oreo/cookies and cream is nice too.
        I love chocolate fudge cake, particularly hot, and with some ice cream 🙂

        Thank you also for the comment, and for visiting my blog. 🙂

      • Shaza's Scrapbook

        Yum, a gooey rich chocolate cake with some vanilla icecream – my favourite combo!

        ~ Shaza ~

  • Fatema

    Your bridal shower cake was spectacular!

    Hazelnut filling sounds delicious but nut allergies are so common these days it may be safer not to go that route.

    • Shaza's Scrapbook

      Thanks Fatema – I agree, my sister did an amazing job. If only I had half her talents :p
      Oooh true about the allergies; I’m hoping the second flavour can be the “safer” option.

      ~ Shaza ~

  • obsession99

    heyy babes!! so ure a cake person too 😀 .. ur first selection is to die for .. and i think if u think along the lines of combining it … then oreo cookies and cream or choco mousse does it well but for diversity i think u shud go for strawberry shortcake and some creamy filling 🙂 – when it comes to entertaining the guests .. not everyone is fond of chocolate .. like my father in law isnt so i would have a completely different tier. 🙂

    • Shaza's Scrapbook

      I agree – I think we’re leaning towards Strawberry Shortcake the most to give variety for those that don’t like chocolate cake. I love red velvet too but I don’t think it’ll be too far off from Chocolate Cake. Debating between Strawberry Shortcake and a Vanilla/Coconut cake – most likely strawberry shortcake!

      ~ Shaza ~

  • obsession99

    personally im a big fan of red velvet too .. but iv heard its not everyone’s cup of tea …

Leave a Reply

