Spirit Fingers

Pre-Wedding Nail Care
My nails are pretty pathetic. I can grow them to a decent length but they break easily and the actual nail is really small. I just got a manicure last weekend and I’m hoping that my nails grow long for the wedding. Some tips I’ve learned while frantically searching for solutions:

  • Keep It Clean: This should be obvious enough – keep your nails as clean as possible
  • Cut: Again, this should be fairly obvious – cutting your nails regularly helps maintain healthier nails
  • Olive Oil: For stronger nails, soak your hands in olive oil for 10-15 minutes and massage oil onto your nails/cuticles. This also helps with the growth of your nails

Although I don’t have time to sit idly for 15-20 minutes everyday, I am hoping that I can atleast massage oil on my hands everyday. If you have tried this, please let me know how well it worked for you! If not, give it a try with me 🙂

Wedding Day Nails
I’m definitely not painting my nails to match my bridal outfits – I don’t like seeing red/maroon nails on a bride (I always picture a crazy bride in a red/maroon outfit with loooong red/maroon nails). I’ll be getting a french manicure as I think it looks timeless and classy.

I’m thinking of getting Shellac mani/pedi, I’d love to hear your thoughts if you’ve gotten it done. Do any of you know good nail salons in Mississauga? I’m a complete newbie in the nail department so any help would be greatly appreciated 🙂

My nails as of last week – they can grow, right?

About Shaza's Scrapbook

My name is Shaza and I'm a twenty something year old who's passionate about FOOD and Weddings! View all posts by Shaza's Scrapbook

6 responses to “Spirit Fingers

  • Zahra Saeed

    Dipping your hands in fresh garlic paste helps a LOT…like really helps I’ve tried it! As you said there isn’t really time for sitting idly dipping your hands in something I just rubbed on some paste on the nails and washed it off after some 5 minutes it really strengthens and helps the nails grow and I had just about a week before my engagement! 😀 You still have a few weeks they’ll grow pretty well inshAllah 🙂 do give it a try

    • Shaza's Scrapbook

      Oooh I didn’t know about garlic paste – does the smell come off easily once you wash it? I’ll definitely give it a try InshAllah. Thanks for the no nail polish tip too – definitely not wearing any these days! 🙂

      ~ Shaza ~

      • Zahra Saeed

        Yup the smell comes off easily with soap and water. You can also massage almond oil on your nails before going to sleep, since its rich in Vitamin E (good for nails) but for me it din’t seem to help in growing them faster, but yeah it makes your nails healthier and shinier so why not 😀

      • Shaza's Scrapbook

        Oooh okay thanks – I didn’t get a chance to try it this weekend but I’ll try the garlic tonight. I did rub Vitamin E Oil all weekend 🙂 Thanks again!

        ~ Shaza ~

  • Zahra Saeed

    And oh…don’t leave nail polish on your nails, it slows down the nail growth while it;s on, I hope you know that…

Leave a Reply

