Dressing For the Heat: Hijabi Edition

Before I start on what I actually want to write about, I have a funny story to share with you guys.

While we were in Barbados, I took my Hijab slightly different than I normally do. Instead of wrapping my Hijab around my chin (i.e. covering my hair and my neck), I wrapped it just around my head (exposing my neck). Since I didn’t look like a “gori” or local, I apparently stood out more than I thought I would. And let’s face it, I do expect to stand out almost everywhere I go because of my Hijab. Everyone in Barbados is super nice but I got stared at. Alot. I got stared at so much that I once asked Nouman if there was something on my face. But no, I was just different so people stared. The guys wanted to be my friend. Wink wink.

My Hijab style in Barbados

Anyway, back to the topic on hand…

I normally don’t get hot; I’m always freezing. Sometimes, I have to step outside my work to get “toasty.” Yup, I’m one of those people who think 30+ degrees is PERFECT – much to Nouman’s disbelief might I add. I do love to wear summery clothes in the summer though. Below are some tips for those of you who cover-up in the summer:

  • Maxi Dresses & Long Skirts: Your BFFs for the summer. Light, airy and oh-so-comfortable! I’m not much of a skirt wearer, but maxi dresses are a staple in my summer wardrobe. I have around 10 long dresses and I always want more. Most dresses are sleeveless, so you can pair them with the below
  • Shrugs/Cardigans: You can pair long dresses with a light cardigan or shrug/bolero. Don’t use the same cardigans as you have for the winter – those are obviously way too thick. Instead, purchase your cardigans/shrugs around Fall or Spring; you’ll find nice colours and they’ll keep you cool in the heat. I can never have enough of these – I always buy solid colours since they are the most versatile (black, white and bright pink are my go-to colours)
  • Shirt Dresses: I love these. If you see a long sleeve shirt dress, buy it. These are often made of cotton or chiffon so it’s perfect for a hot day. Pair these with:
  • Full Length Tights: Who doesn’t love a stretchy elastic band at the waist? I’d trade in my tight jeans for tights anyday. They keep you cooler than jeans and add a bit of flair to any outfit
  • Long Sleeve Shirts: This is a tough one, but if you can find them, buy them! Wearing a cotton or chiffon long sleeve shirt is great – it can dress up any look (paired with dark jeans) and saves you from wearing cardigans ontop of jeans.
  • Linen Pants: I bought a pair of loose-fitted linen pants for our honeymoon and I LOVE them. I only wore them once on our honeymoon, but I ware them often around Toronto. So comfy and so light.

Tights and a dress – this was in January so I paired it with boots. In the summer, I wear flats or sandals instead.

If you wear a Hijab…

  • Headbands/Bonnets: I don’t know about you, but most of the time I wear a full cap under my Hijab. I’ve worn it from day 1 so I find it the most hassle-free thing to wear. However, if I’m going to a really hot place (i.e. Karachi in June), I often switch the cap for a headband/bonnet. There’s less fabric around your neck – so it helps keep things cooler
  • Material Matters: Wearing a thick velvet Hijab might not be the smartest choice for summer. Go for lightweight and breathable fabrics such as cotton, linen or silk.
  • Colour Blast: It’s summer – enjoy bright or light colours but avoid dark ones such as black. This is the one tip that I’ve been having a hard time sticking to recently. I went through a phase (2 summers ago) where I LOVED colourful Hijabs – the brighter, the better. This summer, I’m still loving my black. I think it has something to do with the fact that my favourite Hijab (2 for $10 from Ardene) is black. I have the same one in blue but I don’t love it as much. Yeah, I’m weird. I do wear colourful clothes so I guess it balances out! I love yellow these days. I have a yellow (full sleeve chiffon) shirt and I wish I could wear it everyday.

Long dress, check. Thin cardigan, check. Light Hijab, check.

Seriously, it’s not that hard. I know many desi’s hate summer because of clothing issues… but I love it!

About Shaza's Scrapbook

My name is Shaza and I'm a twenty something year old who's passionate about FOOD and Weddings! View all posts by Shaza's Scrapbook

2 responses to “Dressing For the Heat: Hijabi Edition

  • Af

    Very much a rastafarian style hijab that you donned in Barbados. Perhaps the locals were loving the Bob Marley type vibe that is so prevalent in their neighbouring island?!
    Yes wearing hijab in any style causes a lot of staring and people making comments in certain countries. It’s sweet really – good to know i’m not the only one who experiences this…

    • Shaza's Scrapbook

      Hi Af,
      Haha, yeah maybe! Either way, they were intrigued in a cute way. Only one person asked me about my Hijab – he asked if it was religious/cultural and then said it looks very pretty. Rest of the guys just stared politely/tried to get friendly 🙂
      YEAY!

      ~ Shaza ~

Leave a comment