Monday’s Munchies: Mom’s Cooking

I spent the weekend at my parents place and I caught up on all my mom’s yummy food. Over the 2 days, she made alot of my favourite foods – yeay! I was in food heaven.

There’s something about mom’s cooking – it’s comforting and so familiar. I appreciate it even more since I’ve been married. Last weekend, my mom had a dawat at her place and she cooked my favourites: lasagna, onion pakoray and lots and lots of fruit chaat! This weekend, she made the remaining favourites πŸ™‚

Day 1: Kalay Channay, Dahi Baray, Mini Veggie Pizza’s and Mini Zataar & Cheese Pizza’s, Aloo Stuffed Parathay, Egg Parathay, and Karhai Gosht for the others.
Dessert: Baklava

Day 2: Fruit chaat, Lasagna (my fav!!), Rice, Karhi and Ketchup Chips
Dessert: Mithai, Hazelnut Mousse Cake and Assorted Chocolates!

What about you guys? Any of you enjoy your mom’s cooking when you go home? πŸ™‚

About Shaza's Scrapbook

My name is Shaza and I'm a twenty something year old who's passionate about FOOD and Weddings! View all posts by Shaza's Scrapbook

14 responses to “Monday’s Munchies: Mom’s Cooking

  • Hibah

    You’re so lucky! I’m dying to have my mom’s food 😦

    • Shaza's Scrapbook

      Aww – I know how you feel. I felt so deprived by this weekend! You can learn her recipes while you wait to have her food Hibah πŸ™‚ Not the same, but it’s something! (I say it as if I would…)

      ~ Shaza ~

  • Toni Lupro

    That looks absolutely YUM. I hold one of my Pakistani friend’s mom’s (that’s a mouthful) food in the highest regard. I swear, Desi food out is delicious but homemade… AMAZING. I’m always complimenting “Ammi’s skills.”

  • Toni Lupro

    Oh! And I was in Toronto last weekend and got a chance to try out Slice of New York. It was just so different than any halal we have around here (and I stay with my grandparent’s in Dearborn a lot — it’s closer to uni — so there’s Muslims everywhere!) that we felt it was totally necessary. Our absolute favorite was this little Thai restaurant about 5 minutes from city center on Parliment. The food was to die for. I will literally return each time I hit the city if I can.

  • SippingChai

    I would love some dahi baray right about now! I love my mom’s cooking. Masha’Allah, she’s an amazing cook (I’m sure every1 says that about their mother). Ever since I got married, my parents always ask me for what I would like them to have prepared before I get there. I always tell them not to trouble themselves, but you know…they find a way to get it out of me. Hehe. I have so many different cravings now that I can’t get my mom’s cooking as easily.

    • Shaza's Scrapbook

      Totally, I think everyone loves their mom’s cooking. There’s just something so yummy about it. I know what you mean – my mom does the same. She asks me about what she should make and even though I tell her not to worry about it, she always manages to make everything I love.

      ~ Shaza ~

  • Shirin

    It my last ramadan with my parents, next year IA i will be married (which im totally excited about) but not too excited about the cooking as I DONT KNOW HOW TO COOK!, lol its a good thing my fiance is so loving and doesnt care πŸ™‚ but yes im going to miss my moms food so much!!

    • Shaza's Scrapbook

      Hi Shirin,
      Congratulations – that is sooo exciting! Same here – I can cook the basics (daal, chawal, pasta) but I don’t enjoy it one bit. So far my MIL has been cooking so I’ve been saved!

      ~ Shaza ~

      • Shirin

        lucky you! at least you have someone to cover for you, Im going to have to get creative as my husband is also from Pakistan and is VERY VERY VERY dedicated carnivore. lol

      • Shaza's Scrapbook

        Yup, for about a month. Then it’s all me… so scared! Same here, my husband is a meat lover and I don’t eat any meat (except fish). Goodluck to both of us… I think we’ll need it! Haha πŸ™‚

        ~ Shaza ~

  • ni khan

    That lasagna looks soooo good…..moms are the best, Alhumdulillah. I think as we get older, we appreciate our mom’s so much more. Hope your Ramadan is going well, IA! πŸ™‚ I

Leave a Reply

