The Veiled Bride: Me

Remember my Laal Dupatta post? Well, I’m finally here to enlighten you on what that post was all about!

On the wedding day, I wore a red “net” dupatta – it was a simple net dupatta with a thin gold border around it. Once the Nikkah was about to start, my sisters adorned me with a chaapi dupatta (the dupatta you see with the silver border). What in the world is a chaapi dupatta you’re wondering, right? From what I understand, the dupatta is called a “chaapi dupatta” because the design looks as if it’s stamped onto the fabric.

In my moms family, the bride wears a chaapi saree during her Nikkah. However, since many girls choose to wear sharara/gharara/lehenga’s, they put the dupatta over their head during the Nikkah. It was important to both my sister and I that we incorporate certain traditions into our own weddings. Hence, both of us used the same chaapi duppatta that one of my mom’s friend brought from Pakistan.

Nikkah time. The chaapi dupatta is on top and the red net dupatta is coming infront of my face

 

Do you have any similar traditions?

About Shaza's Scrapbook

My name is Shaza and I'm a twenty something year old who's passionate about FOOD and Weddings! View all posts by Shaza's Scrapbook

2 responses to “The Veiled Bride: Me

Leave a Reply

