Bride’s Edition: 10 Things to Stop Doing To Yourself

I was on the Knot.com and came across this article on 30 Things to Stop Doing to Yourself. It inspired me to start thinking of things that I need to stop doing.

Since it’s the beginning of the year and we are all setting goals for ourselves, I thought I would list 10 wedding specific things to stop doing:

  1. Stop being indecisive: There is alot of variety in the wedding industry these days. When trying to finalize things for your wedding, stop getting confused between all your options. To make your decision, try making lists: if you visit 10 venues, immediately narrow down your list to top 5, then top 2 and then make the decision!
  2. Stop looking once you’ve found: A common mistake that brides make (have you watched Say Yes to The Dress?!) is to keep looking for things even after they have booked a vendor. There will always be new photographers, more affordable venues and better dress designs that come out after you have booked/bought something. Don’t make yourself go crazy by checking out all the latest and greatest in the industry – it’s always changing. Instead, focus on what you have and remind yourself why you chose to go with it in the first place – chances are, you’ll fall in love with your photographer/venue/dress all over again!
  3. Stop doubting to yourself: Happens to alot of us brides – we buy/book and are super happy with our decision and then we start to doubt. I’m in that place about one of my “choices” right now. But I know that I need to stop doubting myself – it was the best decision I made in the price point I had. So people, stop doubting yourself – you made a decision, it’s time to stand by your decision!
  4. Stop trying to please everyone else: This is a big one for desis – especially girls. It’s time you stop trying to make everyone else happy – be respectful and open to suggestions from your family/friends – but ultimately, do what makes you happy. Okay, who am I kidding? This is WAY easier said than done… but try!
  5. Stop comparing yourself: Bride’s are constantly comparing themselves to other brides – stop it. Your wedding doesn’t have to be better than your BFFs or whackier than your cousins. Really. Stop worrying about what other brides are doing – your wedding should reflect YOU (and your fiance ofcourse). Oh, and while you’re at it, stop trying to outdo/copy William & Kate.
  6. Stop freaking out about your weight: I know that every bride wants to look her best on this big day… trust me, I do too! But, instead of wanting to be a skinny person, try to be healthy instead – focus on eating right and working out. All of us girls can’t be size zero’s and really, most of us won’t look good being a size zero. It’s time to focus on your health instead of your weight. I’m definitely working on eating healthy these days 🙂 I’m hoping I’ll be motivated to start working out soon too…
  7. Stop stressing out: I really need to apply this to myself – the time before your wedding is supposed to be the best time; full of pampering and love – so enjoy it! Everything will get done and it will all pull together in the end 🙂
  8. Stop being a perfectionist: Not everything is in your control and not everything can be perfect. Accept this.
  9. Stop pestering your fiance: Honestly, I lean on the Mister (and my family) for most of my wedding decisions… and I know that I stress the Mister out sometimes alot. I’ve come to realize that although he cares about our wedding more than most guys do about theirs (seriously, does anyone know how long it took us to find our venues?!), he really is indifferent about the small details. Guys care about the “bigger picture” – so take care of the small details but listen to what his vision is
  10. Stop pissing off your family: Just kidding… sort of! What I actually mean is that you should start focusing on the important thing: your family. Instead of worrying about your wedding and stressing out your family, you should really enjoy the time you have with your family (H, I know you love me).

... Because it's FREEZING in Toronto

... and I love Latte's and macaroons! 🙂

I’m definitely trying to work on quite a few things on the list above – I’m a work in progress people!  If you’re overwhelmed, don’t be – try to work on 1 or 2 things at a time 🙂

p.s. you can definitely apply some of the points above to other aspects of your life – besides wedding.

About Shaza's Scrapbook

My name is Shaza and I'm a twenty something year old who's passionate about FOOD and Weddings! View all posts by Shaza's Scrapbook

6 responses to “Bride’s Edition: 10 Things to Stop Doing To Yourself

  • broadsideblog

    All great advice. I got married in Toronto in September (on the Island in the little church there) and had a great time…but I’m older, have no family to please and it was my second wedding. I think it’s scarily easy to succumb to peer pressure in every way instead of saying “This is what we want” and sticking to it.

    One of the most important things is to remember that your wedding, no matter what the cost and pomp, is ONE DAY and you are committing the rest of your life to this man. After the party and presents, it’s real life…There’s no The Knot for cheerleading AFTER the wedding day.

    • Shaza's Scrapbook

      Congrats on your wedding!
      I totally agree – it’s taken me a while to realize that the wedding will be over in a flash and it’s really not worth the stress I was putting myself through. At the end of the day, I just want everyone to have a good time… and I’m mainly looking forward to starting our lives together! 🙂

      ~ Shaza ~

  • juliannayu

    I agree with all of your points and although I’m not heading down the aisle, I can see how a bride might need to be reminded of these things. Wedding planning can be stressful and these reminders are great for a soon to be bride who might not be acting like her usual self due (emotional stress ball? Haha). Great list Shaza!!

  • jowayria

    cool advice, was a good read! (catching up on old posts as my sis emailed me ur blog link today!)

Leave a comment